EN | FR
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background

With nearly a hundred residents, and visually impaired children and adults blind to severely disabled, the association “Le Foyer” the premises are now too small and unsuited to their needs. Built in 1910, expanded in 1925, 1960 and 1990, the organization of the premises has never been designed with a global vision of the site, resulting in a problematic use of space.

Winner of the architectural competition organized in 2011, the project was guided by the desire to bring back the domestic character of the foundation. It is therefore necessary to create real living spaces, “houses” for the permanent residents while restructuring existing spaces.

The project aims to inhabit the park by creating two new houses. The former volumes, meanwhile, relocated around common areas, in order to provide residents the opportunity to live according to their potential for independence. The various functions – sheltered workshops, housing, public areas, therapy – are also reorganized to give a clear identity to each assignment.

Particular attention is given to the redevelopment of outdoor areas to improve their ownership. The creation of a new main entrance clarifies the whole site and greatly improves internal circulations. A central courtyard is defined, bringing together public areas. The theme of the thresholds and the filter concept are thought out to enable smooth transitions between different landscaping.

The typology of the new housings is organized around a central core of services. This arrangement breaks the linearity of circulation spaces and allows for generous living spaces with external extensions.

EN | FR
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background
Slide background

Accueillant près de cent résidents, enfants et adultes malvoyants ou aveugles à handicap lourd, l’association « Le Foyer » bénéficie aujourd’hui de locaux trop petits et peu adaptés à ses besoins. Construite en 1910, puis agrandie en 1925, 1960 et 1990 l’organisation interne des espaces n’ayant jamais été conçue avec une vision globale du site, il en résulte une utilisation problématique des locaux.

Lauréat du concours d’architecture organisé en 2011, le projet imaginé a été guidé par la volonté de redonner à la fondation son caractère domestique. Il s’agit donc de créer de réels lieux de vie, des « maisons » pour ces résidents permanents tout en restructurant les espaces existants.

Le projet propose donc d’habiter le parc en y créant deux nouvelles maisons. Les anciens volumes sont, quant à eux, réaffectés autour d’espaces collectifs, le but étant d’offrir aux résidents la possibilité de vivre selon leur potentiel d’autonomie. Les différentes fonctions – ateliers protégés, logements, espaces communs, thérapie – sont aussi réorganisées de manière à redonner une identité claire à chaque affectation.

Une attention particulière est portée à la requalification des espaces extérieurs afin d’en améliorer leur appropriation. La création d’une nouvelle entrée principale sur rue clarifie l’ensemble du site et améliore fortement les circulations internes. Une cour centrale est dégagée, réunissant autour d’elle les espaces communs. La thématique des seuils et la notion de filtre sont travaillées afin de permettre des transitions subtiles entre les différents aménagements extérieurs.

La typologie des nouveaux logements est organisée autour d’un noyau central de services. Cette disposition permet de casser la linéarité des espaces de circulation et de dégager de généreux espaces de séjour aux prolongements extérieurs.